Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Keroleen

Female Skates

Hi,

I am wondering if anyone can recommend a good ice skate for absolute beginner. I wanna try skating on ice with the possibility of hockey (doing inline right now). I am wondering if it makes a difference using a female skate or just the regular men's.

Welcome to the board, Keroleen.

The only company who makes a non-custom women's skate is Mission...the Pure SW.

Not only are they narrower, but women's calves/ankle bones are lower than men's. They're also not as stiff.

However, most women end up going with men's skates.

They'll most likely be way too stiff for her. The retails are already pretty stiff but the ones at Cyclone are pro stocks.

Thanks for your replies.

Yes i heard of the Mission SW/Betty skate.

But maybe it is more for pro.

I am looking for something for learning to skate but also can use for rec level hockey in futures.

thanks

I wasn't sure.... not too many online places have them.

Found a couple of the older Betty skates for $130 at hockeygiant and $90 at 1800faceoff (faceoff only had them in sizes 4 and 4.5).

hey does any one know where i can get Mission SW or Betty or whatever female HOCKEY skate in the Greater Vancouver area?I am looking for size 10 or 11 I found some at sport check but they were the wrong size. Apparently Mission skate is correct shoe size and one size down?

Information would be appreciated. Thanx