Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

snobrder_ad

what stick length for a 6'4" (+2"or so with skates) tall punk?

Im new to the whole ice hockey scene, bought a couple cheap sherwood sticks with a couple different curves. Well, my skills and drill instructor nicely informed me that the sticks i had were too short. So what length stick should i look into for myself?

thanks gentlemen

Im new to the whole ice hockey scene, bought a couple cheap sherwood sticks with a couple different curves. Well, my skills and drill instructor nicely informed me that the sticks i had were too short. So what length stick should i look into for myself?

thanks gentlemen

well it all depends on your position and skating style. i am 6'5" w/o skates and i use a 60" and realy like it.

i used to play with a 5" plug but i tough my game suffered cause of that so i gave it a shot and since then i noticed my puck control, shots and passes have improved also the shorter stick allowed me to bend more the knees and have a more leaning position witch improved greatly my balance and overall skating.

I am 6'4" and I use a 60" stick with lie 6 and a 61" with lie 5. I would suggest getting a shaft and trying different lengths until you find what feels right.

thanks gentlemen

what makes him say they are to short? I've seen guys with sticks that I consider to short for me but they do fine with them. Same goes for being to long. I think alot of things like stance, lie, stick position, etc have to be taken into consideration. IMHO the right length is whatever you feel comfortable with.

I'm 6'5", most woodies are too short for me so I would tend to agree with your coach.