Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheBeatGoesOn

My skates are a half size too big.

Yeah, I bought my first pair of skates a month or so ago and got an 8.5 but really I wear an 8. They measured my foot at the pro shop and brought the 8.5 out and I tried it on and figured it fit ok (not knowing much cuz I'm a noob). I've skated in them probably 10 times by now. They aren't as snug as I wish they were and I'm wondering if there's anything I can do to tighten them up a little or if I'm just screwed until I can afford to buy a new pair. I'm having trouble learning a hockey stop and I'm thinking I'm lacking confidence because my skate just isn't tight enough mostly up towards the top above my ankles.

try and wear some thicker socks or bite the bullet and throw them up on ebay

I hear yah on the pain of a bad fitting, I was the same way... vapor xx's went to a lhs got my feet measured and when I tried them they felt amazing, 3 years later found out I'm a 7.5 not an 8.5

hate to be the bearer of bad news, but i dont know of anything you can do if a skate is too big.usually a half size isnt too much extra room as some people prefer the little bit extra for comfort, but for someone learning im sure it makes things a little more difficult. if you skates are still in near mint condition, maybe your shop will take them back. i know at my shop we will still take back skates that you arent satisfied with, but if theres any wear showing on the skate, the lhs charges you a retainer fee then sells the skates cheaper

hope you are able to resolve this