Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

haole

Looking for a hockey specific workout routine?

I've been lifting weights for a few years off and on now but I've been doing more of a body building routine. Does anyone know of a training routine they have used or pros or colleges use? I'd love to have a copy of a full on season routine and an off season routine specifically for hockey.

thanks in advance

As a general rule, they use the off-season to improve strength, explosiveness, size, conditioning, injury prevention/rehab work and on-ice skill conditioning.

However, whatever program for an NHL/NCAA player will NOT suit you.

NHL/NCAA/OHL players' programs differ from each player - to suit their individual needs and goals. The physical demands differs from each league. With team training, the S&C coach will outline the training structure but simultaneously cater to each player individually - mainly to attend to their weak areas.

Cookie cutter programs are just that - cookie cutter. To fully maximise your training effort and time, figure out what you need to do to improve in those areas and what would make you a better player. If you have injuries, learn how to train around them. Example being, hockey players tend to have poor hip internal rotation and therefore, lack the ability to squat deep. Plus a whole other host of problems that are common in the pro game.

I may still have the old red wings off season book from a few years ago. Let me look

As a general rule, they use the off-season to improve strength, explosiveness, size, conditioning, injury prevention/rehab work and on-ice skill conditioning.

However, whatever program for an NHL/NCAA player will NOT suit you.