Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
beerleaguecaptain

When Did You Get Bored With Acquiring New Hockey Gear?

I've been playing for 17 years now... I started late in life.  One of the things I loved about the game was the cool gear.  I've bought tons of shit over the years and I know many of you gear whores have done the same.  But now I find myself uninspired...  bored perhaps.... or am I finally just satisfied with that I have? 

Have any of you also gotten stagnant on the gear hunt?  Is it the lack of truly new offerings?  

Thoughts?

Well, since I own a few stores its more difficult for me to "scratch the itch" since part of owning stores requires me to have intimate knowledge of everything we carry and sell. I personally will not sell something without trying it first, which some might think is a bit "over the top" but with so many vendors and options I would prefer to give all of my customers the best bang for their buck. It also allows me to avoid selling them something which might fail prematurely due to poor design or manufacturing. 

That being said, the luster for acquiring new gear and changing gear constantly left me a couple years ago. 

Edited by Nicholas G

For me it was when everything I had was custom and/or pro stock. As a goalie, I don’t think I wear anything at this point you can buy off a shelf. Even my mask is retail but it’s painted. The pants are Crawford pro returns. That’s as retail as my gear gets.

So now I don’t even bother going to the store anymore.